Killing time in small town Alabama

Long View: Stevenson, Alabama: June 18, 2012

View down the sidewalk of downtown Stevenson, Alabama.Long View

A view down the sidewalk of the downtown Stevenson.  When I was a kid, mid-late 70’s, it was full & busy.  Now, most of the buildings are empty, or seem that way.  Some of them look like they have something in them, but not a shop or anything open to the public.  The first shop there is one of those.  Something is in there, but I don’t know what.  Next to that is a computer repair shop.  It used to be a photography studio until the owner died.  That’s where I had my senior pictures taken.  Next to that, where the Pepsi sign & washing machine are is a thrift store.  Up until some time in the 90’s it was a drug store with an ice cream counter in it.  I loved that place (for the ice cream, not the drugs).  My favorite flavor was butter pecan.  Later I came to appreciate orange sherbet, especially in a float with Sprite.  mmmmm.  In the summer when we lived near town, I used to roller skate there, get some ice cream, & sit in the gazebo across the street to eat it.

Taken with my Canon & edited to fix the lighting & color a bit.

One response

  1. Rayburn C Hall

    My time on the streets of Stevenson was in the 60’s. Loved getting a nickel cone at the drugstone. A real treat was the dime one. Stevenson was always a busy place on Staurday evenins.

    September 25, 2012 at 6:06 am

Leave a Reply

