Killing time in small town Alabama

Hick’s Grocery: Stevenson, Alabama: July 23, 2012

An old, closed down, small neighborhood grocery with bars on the window & the windows broken out.Hick’s Grocery

I’m not sure when this store closed.  Maybe in the 90’s.  We used to stop here a lot when I was a kid.  I got a lot of banana Laffy Taffy & chocolate footballs there, along with the occasional Three Musketeers until I realized as much as I loved them they made me sick.  Once on the way to daycare my mom stopped here & bought a can of fruit cocktail for our snack.  I have no idea why, but that memory has always stuck in my head.  I must have been about 3yo.

Taken with my Canon & edited for light & color.

3 responses

  1. Rayburn C Hall

    Is this store close to Adam’s Town?

    September 30, 2012 at 5:30 am

    • I don’t know where Adam’s Town is, but this store is on the road that connects the highway to the street that goes by the post office – 2nd St? (I hardly know the names of any streets around here!) It goes by the banks & the old Lee plant, but I don’t know if that helps you. The elementary school is off of it as well, which might have been the high school when you lived here.

      October 21, 2012 at 11:03 pm

      • Sandy

        Would love to find the company that’s makes that BBQ Ham they carried in the deli

        January 13, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Leave a Reply

